why i use online bike shops

Discussion in 'Observed Trials Discussion' started by 4hun, Jul 28, 2004.

1. 4hun

4hun Guest

When I recieved my Zoo Python I was a little dissapointed with the headset and decided to get a little bit better one, so I called up my local shop (that I have dealt with since I started riding and have poured a considerable amount of money into) to see if they had an FSA pig in stock. I was told $40.00. So I bring the bike in, they do the install with my help, and I am ready to pay. They want to charge me $71.00 for the headset, and would "give me a break" on labour since I did most of the install myself. When I bring up the cost I was quoted I am told they put in the wrong one, and do not have any $40 pig headsets in stock. After explaining that I had no intention of payng $70 for a headset they gave me a discount at $66. What a deal! Espescially since I have probably spent about $10,000 at that shop in the last 4 years.

In contrast I ordered a Zoo Python from Tim at trialsin.com. Tim bent over backwards triing to import one of these things for me. He threw in Plaz pads, and basically way out did my expectations in the area of customer service. My rotor got bent in shipping, so he is sending a plaz rotor absolutely no hassle. This is the second thing i have ever purchased from that shop. I actually feel like he values my business, and as a result he will get it again

Local bike shop story #2