Which Frame ?

Discussion in 'Observed Trials Discussion' started by dcpowpow, Jun 11, 2004.

1. dcpowpow

dcpowpow New Member

I am new to bike trials and want to build a bike. I have it down to 3 frame choices.
    PlanetX Zebdi
    PlanetX Tibo
    Zoo Pitbull

Any opinions ?
    I will not be competing and I am 6 feet tall.
    My background is motorcycle trials and mtn. biking

Thanks

2. WhiteRavenKS

WhiteRavenKS Well-Known Member

at 6 feet tall, you may feel cramped a bit on the zebdi. the tibo and pitbull both seem to be pretty solid starter bikes- cheap and, so far at least, good reputations (regardless of the trash talk around here against zoo).

3. dcpowpow

dcpowpow New Member

Yeah, I am a bit worried about the shorter Zebdi.
    The Tibo is starting to look like a good choice and it is in stock which is the best news of all...

Thanks
    Dave

4. darkside

darkside Well-Known Member

I've ridden Phil Luchero's Tibo a couple times now and it feels pretty nice. You should be pretty happy with it if you get it.

5. 20inchDUDE

20inchDUDE New Member

WHAT IS THE GEO OF A TIBO:

CT?
    WB?

6. darkside

Whoa there... Might wanna turn off CapsLock.

If you click the banner at the top of every page (the one that says Webcyclery), you could learn that:

"This is Planet X's answer to the current UCI style trials bikes. It is constructed of 7000 series Aluminum, has a 1050mm wheelbase, 390mm chainstays, +20mm BB, 73 degree headtube, and weighs only 4 pounds (we weighed it). It has Magura 4 bolt mounts and disc tabs. This is a sweet frame."

7. dcpowpow

dcpowpow New Member

I guess the only thing on the Tibo that is a bit weird is the +20mm BB. Seems like my C.G. will be a bit high and balance could be trickier ?
    Just a thought.......
    Seems pretty light at 4.00 lbs compared to the other frames.

8. Andreas

Andreas All About Trials