which chain for chris king cog??

Discussion in 'Observed Trials Discussion' started by Chris, Feb 19, 2004.

1. Chris

Chris Well-Known Member

I have a 16t king cog and tried two different chains. The Koxx chain, and a KMC 1/2 x 1/8" bmx chain. Both skipped, it was impossible to ride...
    every part of the drivetrain was new, perfect chainline etc.

So which chain do u use?

2. AndyT

AndyT New Member

King cog, new XT chain, blackspire ring...all sitting in my room waiting for a coustellier. I know kevin has run a king cog for a long time. I have no idea why you are having so many problems, I've never heard of anything bad with em.

3. smudge

smudge Central Scrrrrrrrutinizer

check all the teeth very carefully for burrs that might be causing your problems. I've been using King cogs for a few years and every once in a while, usually when my der. hanger gets bent, the chain will cut into the side of the teeth. When that happens you need to file the burr down so it won't pick up the chain.

I've recently noticed another potential problem...I'm actually bending the teeth forward. It's easier to show than to explain but there are a few teeth with very little material actually holding them to the cog (because of the machined relief) and they're bending forward. I'm waiting for one to let go completely. I've spoken with King about this to which I am told "we do not recommend that our hubs are used for trials." I reply, I'm talking about a cog here, not a hub and I get, again, "we do not recommend our hub for trials."

I've been a huge fan and supporter of King for the better part of ten years, but if they cease to support their products in the manner stated in the warrantee at the time of purchase, then they're going to lose my business.

Sean

4. Chris

Chris Well-Known Member

that's strange.. a friend tried the sram 8 speed chain and it also skipped. I have a new xt chain here as well, but I think it will also skip..