Tryall rims and grinding???

Discussion in 'Observed Trials Discussion' started by FuzzyLogic, Sep 23, 2004.

1. FuzzyLogic

FuzzyLogic Guest

I'd like to know is it very bad for rim? And i also would like to know what will TRA, or some one with his level of riding will say about grin on tryall rims...

2. hydroboy

hydroboy "Jak se mas"

They grind easily, which means they wear quickly. The metal is soft, it will work but id go with a dx32 despite what everyone says about the tryalls width.

3. willapaj

willapaj New Member

I have no personal experience with the TryAll, but I've also heard the grind wears fast on them. The DX32 holds a grind real well though. And it's not like 39mm is skinny...

4. WhiteRavenKS

WhiteRavenKS Well-Known Member

the metal the try-all rims are made from has too much butter content. they are way too soft. i can lay down a harsh ass grind right before an event and by the time i finish the first round i dont have brakes any more. its really frustrating having to put down a grind every two seconds if you want to keep top notch braking. in comparison i could grind every couple of weeks with a dx-32... i love the stability of the try-all but i hate everything else about it.

5. Bigman 86

Bigman 86 Bigman, Because i am ;)

I agree with Kevin on this, i am runing a koxx rim and i love the width, makes the bike feel much more stable BUT with metal is so soft that a grind only lasts 5-6 hours of harsh riding, This realy pisses me off as after that my brake losses alot of it's pow3er, and i have yet to find a set of pads that work well on a koxx rim.

I would deffinatly recomend a DX32, Echo or an Onza ronnie (if u can get one) as they are alot stronger and can actualy sustain a grind for a great lenght of time.

6. felix

felix New Member

The Try All rims are the worst rims for grinds.
    You can grind it very harsh, as Kevin said, and after an hour of riding your brake hardly works.