Static Forward Hop - Tips Please

Discussion in 'Observed Trials Discussion' started by JasonMudd, Jul 30, 2004.

1. JasonMudd

JasonMudd Guest

I'm pretty much a total newb working on the basic moves at this point in time.

My static forward hops are atrocious and I want to make sure I'm practicing the right technque rather than reinforce bad behavior. In case I'm using the wrong term - what I'm trying to do is with both wheels locked, jump the bike forward hopefully so that the rear wheel lands where the front wheel started, or something similar (more distance would always be nice). Usually onto a small ledge or up an incline.

Basically, I'm not sure of the starting position of my weight.

Do you keep your weight forward, so that you can than concentrate on compress, explode up, and throw the bike forward?

Or do you start with the weight back, so that through the magic of timing you can compress, explode up and forward, and throw the bike forward?

Or am I completely missing something else here?

Thanks.

2. Cory

Cory Guest

Try to focus on jumping your body forward instead of up. Compress to preload your legs and tires and jump forward and pull your bars up and forward and unweight your pedals. Try to extend your bars in front of you once you get in the bike in the air to maximize your distance. You can get a wheelbase or more easily using this techinique. Another way to do this is to use a lunge in which you us a pedal kick to get the forward momentum, however if you have questionable traction or brakes the first technique would be preferable. Hope this helps,

Cory

3. oicdn

oicdn Guest

^^yeah, put your weight back, and lunge foreward with a pedal kick....but like stated above if you're on questionable terrain, the unweighting/throwing the bike in front of you is the best option.

4. JasonMudd

JasonMudd Guest

Thanks much. Now I just have to work on the timing...

5. RT Wolf

RT Wolf Insanity Studios Inc.