Shoulder Pain

Discussion in 'Observed Trials Discussion' started by trialsbug, Mar 5, 2004.

1. trialsbug

trialsbug New Member

I realize that there is already a thread on trials related pains, but I just want comments on a specific pain that I have.

I recently started riding a Pure (long) and Team (long). both bikes have Echo bars. Before this I was riding a Zebdi with a Try-All bar and an X-Lite with the flat Monty bar.

Shortly after I started riding the new bikes I started having a lot of shoulder pain. My guesses are that it is from riding longer bikes which stretches me out and puts more weight on my arms or that the stiffer bar is causing my arms to get jolted harder when I roll down obstacles or gap to front wheel. It is also possible that the difference in the sweep of the Echo bar is causing problems. Has anyone else had this problem?

2. Coramoor

Coramoor New Member

Yes. Sorta. It's never hurt enough to be a problem. But after switching to a longer bike i feel my arms get stretched more on ups and stuff like that. Would probably help to stretch your shoulders and do proper wramups before you ride. If this is your problem that is.

3. AndyT

AndyT New Member

I haven't been able to sleep on my left side for well over a year now, due to my shoulder. It hurts all the time. What do I do about it? Sleep on my back, and just deal with it.

For you I would take a few days off, make sure you are warming and stretching up properly. If it starts to seriously hurt just wait a few days for your muscles/joints to heal or feel better or whatever...then get back on it- hopefully your body will adjust to the newly acquired length in due time.

4. Cryo-Cube

Cryo-Cube -----------

i heard the Echo Stem/Bar are stiff as fuck. Maybe thats the problem.
    You could try a shorter echo stem or lower the pressure on the front tire.

5. trialsbug

trialsbug New Member