Shin Massacre

Discussion in 'Observed Trials Discussion' started by Ross, Aug 1, 2004.

1. Ross

Ross New Member

I was out riding today and while doing a pedal up, my foot slipped off the pedal causing my shin to become victim. My question is, why is it ALWAYS my left shin that gets killed by the pedal and NEVER the right. I have been riding for a couple of months and my left shin has been hit pretty hard (no stitches) 3 or 4 times. I am left foot forward which I think probably has something to do with it. Have any of you guys had this same problem? Anyway, I ordered a pair of shinguards today so this hopefully will not happen again.

2. giventofly

giventofly I like Hops

physics.
    your front foot slips off, usually at the toe, transferring all of your weight to your back pedal. The cranks come around with your full body weight on them (plus whatever extra pressure you were applying trying to make the move), and slam up into your shin (which is moving down with gravity in the opposide direction of the crank)

shinguards are cool

3. BenR

BenR Active Member

I ride with my left foot forwards too. And usually only hit my left shin, but sometimes my right shin gets destroyed too.

4. Lagerhead

Lagerhead New Member

Because you ride left foot forward.
    If your front foot slips off, all of your weight on the other (back) pedal, causes the cranks to rotate backwards toward your shin.
    If your back foot slips off, the cranks either, don't rotate because you have the brakes locked, or, they rotate forward, away from your shin.

wow, 2 replies in the time it took me to type one.

Last edited: Aug 1, 2004
  5. Bloodhound

Bloodhound Steffen L.T.

Yupp.

I ride right foot foreward and have only hit my right shin. Most pedal slips happen on the right too.

6. Sforzando

Sforzando Guest