newbie questions

Discussion in 'Beginner's Area' started by steve_v, Sep 29, 2004.

1. steve_v

steve_v New Member

I'm new to trials but have been riding mountain bikes for a long time. I'm looking at a frame with the following geometry : 1065 mm wheelbase, 390 mm. chainstays, and a 71 degree head angle. I'm 6' tall, if that helps. Would this be a good starter frame (I can get it cheap !) What stem length would be best ?.

Also, I have an XT disc/Rhyno lite wheelset and I was going to use Avid mech. disc brakes. I see that a lot of riders use disc up front and hydraulic rim in the rear. Why ? I really don't want to mess with hydros at this point and I like the avids.

Lastly, are the Truvativ trials cranks any good (the cheaper ones). Thanks

2. OTAdmin

OTAdmin Administrator Staff Member

I would say that this frame size is just right for someone 6' tall. I am 6'3" and my 1065 is just a hair too small, my next frame will be around 1080 or so.

I'm guessing you're planning on using disc brakes front and rear. The problem we have run into with disc brakes on the rear is that the disc tabs have a habit of ripping off. There are only a couple frames out there that can hold up to the use of a rear disc and not break. The Brisa (check it out here) has a pretty unique rear disc mount between the chainstay and seat stay that is tried and trued with trials. The Megamo also seems to hold up to disc use, but its quite a bit more rare and I'm not sure where to find pictures.

As for what discs to use, there is nothing wrong with the avids, but the avid mechanical will not fit on the disc mount on the back of a brisa. Peyto makes a frame with a chainstay disc mount that will work with an avid mechanical.