gimp wrist

Discussion in 'Observed Trials Discussion' started by nidoss, Mar 28, 2004.

1. nidoss

nidoss New Member

When ever i go ride, i have sharp pains in my wrist, and when im not riding its a dull pain. I was wondering if there was any magic way to stop it from hurting other than not riding. I did the same thing last summer to my right wrist, but now its fine(i barely rode for 3 months), but just a few weeks ago i messed my left wrist up.

im still a beginner so im trying to ride as much as possible. My remarkably unsmooth style might be the problem.

2. OTAdmin

OTAdmin Got more product than Ron Popeil Staff Member

Your best bet would be to ask an actual doctor.

The first thing I would say is to take some time off riding, however... I realize that is not easy to do when you're addicted. If you give this a shot and it isn't working out, try riding through it.

I had some wrist problems for about my 3rd through 8th month of riding and the only "cure" I found (because of my "addiction" I couldn't/wouldn't stop riding) was to ride through it. It hurt really bad a lot of times, but I knew if I kept riding I'd either do permanent damage or force it to get stronger. I probably did both, but I haven't had wrist pains in over a year now.

The cause of my wrist pain was from pulling up on the bars, I know this because it hurt when I pulled up and didn't give me much trouble at all on landings or whatever.

If yours hurts from pulling up, try lightening up the front end of your bike, if it hurts from pushing down, give a cheap suspension fork a try for a while. I think you can pick up a manitou black fork for pretty cheap, and for just a few more bucks you could get the same one with a lock out. I'm betting Kevin (WhiteRavenKS) will know if the lock out is worth the money or not, but as far as I know, no lock out so far has a good reputation.