Getting- up Technique

Discussion in 'Beginner's Area' started by two8616, Oct 23, 2004.

1. two8616

two8616 Guest

I just started riding bike trials a few months ago (I came from mototrials) and I'm catchin on pretty quick to pedal kicking and big drops, but I have major problems with getting up anthing taller than 2 feet or so. The technique I'm using now is: setting front wheel up onto an object and then giving some front brake to get rear wheel lift. I can do this straight on or at an angle- but I really want to learn how to get up bigger things like rails. Could anyone explain how to get height with the rear wheel? I'm having a very difficult time with it. Thanks

2. CoppellStereo

CoppellStereo Ruff Rider

i dont know if this helps you are anything, but the way i learned to get up was to watch a trials movie, and when someone does a big up, i watch that part over and over again to watch how they do it

3. digby

digby New Member

pretend your hips/legs are the throttle, give it some gas and dont use the brake.

4. Stock

Stock Tumescent.

I have a few questions about upping, specifically pedal ups.

1- Do the bars go to the hips before, or just as the jump is completed? In other words, do the bars touch the hips as a preliminary to lifting the bike after the jump, or do they touch just as the jump is completed? I feel like if I leave the handlebars slightly lower down until after I am in the air I can jump more forcefully, but I could see how bringing them up just as the jump finishes could give you some extra height.

2- Does jumping ability matter at all? I have been trying for a very long time to be able to pedal up over wheel height, but I can't seem to get any higher. This is aggrivating becuase I can jump standing on to something over four feet tall. Are different muscles involved in the jump on a bike as opposed to on foot? Those of you who can up three feet or more without a tap, how high can you jump on foot?