chris king - problems ..

Discussion in 'Observed Trials Discussion' started by sebLG, Feb 25, 2004.

1. sebLG

sebLG New Member

hey all,

need some help w/ my king . i have had it for 2 days now and have been bedding it in . whats happenening is yesterday and some of today is skipped about 8 times so far, and then later today, because i was getting really pissed off with all the skip, i just started riding it doing all the regular trials shit i normally do and not one single skip .
    heres my question, does the way in which i have gona about bedding this is effect the feel of the hub, coz mine feels like shit, or is it just my gearing(22-18) i know its shit gearing but shmeh ... ??? also when i pedal backwards a get chain sag (u know what i mean), is this because the hub is not bedded in? but yah, my hub feels really bad, like my gaps are smaller and i dont feel as though i am getting a very good power transfer . i hope its coz of the crap gear .

thanks much!

cyall,

SebLG...

PS : I know king usually take a longer time to bed in but mine isnt skipping so yeah ...

2. OTAdmin

OTAdmin Administrator Staff Member

The chain suck could be because the lube inside the hub isn't broken in yet. You should pull the hub apart, wipe it out and I think CK says to use tri-flow for lube so it engages faster, this will probably also help out with the chain suck.

If during bedding in while it was skipping you were pedaling VERY lightly, I wouldn't be TOO surprised it was skipping this much. King likes hard engagement, when you pedal hard, it engages hard.

As for how how the bedding in affects the final hub, I'm not really sure. I broke mine in for about a day I think then rode it. I think Andrew's first king (the skip-o-matic one) he broke in pretty thoroughly. I think he's problem free on his current hub and I wouldn't be surprised if that one had very little bedding in time.

Hopefully this all make sense, it's 3AM and I'm taking a studying break... so yeah

Bill