Buying electric guitar help

Discussion in 'The Gutter' started by AlainY, Nov 22, 2004.

1. AlainY

AlainY bruises that won't heal

Someone talked about guitars here so i'm going to ask.

i'm looking to buy an electric guitar. I've been playing my acoustic for like 3 years now. So what's a good guitar i can get from the 200-300 dollar range?

Can i get a Fender STratocaster? Like what's a good brand, best bang for your buck kind of thing?

Is this a good deal:

http://www.musiciansfriend.com/srs7/g=guitar/search/detail/base_pid/514013/

2. smudge

smudge Central Scrrrrrrrutinizer

If you have the time, go into local music store that sell used guitars and play them. There are so many brands of guitars out there that are fun to play, and set up nicely. You'll get more bang for buck out of a used guitar than a new one, even from Musician's Fiend.

First have a general idea of what kind of sound you like. If you typically listen to and like bluesy/rockabilly style stuff, you're likely listening to a Strat or Telecaster (single coil pickups). If you enjoy typical rock/metal or like the muted tone of jazz guitarists, check out a Gibson Les Paul and variants. There's a huge sound difference between single coil and humbuckers. Play a few guitars in the shops and figure out which one you like the best. Don't forget to play it on an amp and through pedals you're likely to own. Different amps produce wildly different tones as well.

Back in 1992 I found a used Gibson Les Paul Studio at a local place for $450 (retail was around $900). It looked like it had never been touched. Six years later, I stripped the finish, oiled the wood and sold it for $500 to a very happy buyer.