Brake Setup

Discussion in 'Observed Trials Discussion' started by Ross, Jun 9, 2004.

1. Ross

Ross New Member

I am a beginner so forgive me if the answer to my question is painfully obvious. Here goes. What is the logic behind having a disk brake up front and a magura on the rear, as Vincent Hermance does. Cant you generally get more power out of a disk than you can out of a magura? Dont most people like to have either a more powerful or equally powerful rear brake as their front brake. Since I am a beginner trials rider, I am in no position to question Hermance's setup but I was just wondering why one would set up their brakes like that. Thanks.

2. B1105

B1105 New Member

I don't have a disc or a magura in my current trials bike, but generally a disc has more power than the magura, which is really helpful on front wheel moves. Having V's on the front isnt really that powerful but its not limiting, but a disc has quite a bit of power and IMO can be modulated the most among Vs and Maguras.

Thats just my opinion, I could be wrong.

3. Rob.K

Rob.K Guest

Disks aren't put on the back wheel because in trials the disk puts so much stress on the frame, and it will break. There are only about 2 bikes that you could put a disk on the rear without breaking the frame.

As a beginner you should go with a V in the rear since they are simpler to set up and cheap. Make shure you have sticky pads and a grind otherwise the brakes will slip.

Hermance uses HS33 on the rearcause his frame is designed for it. Plus maggies are powerfull and work well if you know what you are doing with them, which Hermance does.

Disk on the front is the best though.

4. Andreas

Andreas All About Trials

NO trials frame will hold up more than a years worth of riding with dual discs. rear discs need their kinks taken out before they will be widely marketed (but nobody seems to be working on new rear disc designs so that won't happen any time soon).