beginner hubs, and fork for zebdi

Discussion in 'Beginner's Area' started by snakebite, Oct 24, 2004.

1. snakebite

snakebite Guest

ok, i am new at this trials thing. I was wondering if some shimano xt hubs are good enough for a beginner. or should i save up, and go all out for some chris king hubs? do i really need uber fast engagement to learn the basics?

on a side note, what size fork should i get for my zebdi? the 400mm or 425mm planet x super light.

2. Yurich

Yurich New Member

xt hubs will be fine, just know that you'll be replacing freehub bodies about once every few months....it's really not that bad.

I'd go with the 400mm and a higher rise stem

3. OTAdmin

OTAdmin Administrator Staff Member

Eventually I would say you're going to want a chris king hub. But as long as you have a rear wheel already I can't recommend you buy one right away. If you're in trials for the long haul and don't have a rear wheel, you might as well pick one up and get it over with, no sense in buying an xt, a chris king, two sets of spokes and two wheel builds (if you don't buy your own wheels). You'll be fine on an XT for your entire trials career, but I would recommend riding what you have until it breaks, at that point you're probably ready for a chris king.

4. Elan

Elan steve french

i wouldnt even bother with XT hubs. get a deore hub and save some $. because for trials they are both going to give you the same quality of ride.

zebdis are designed for street use, or are used by most for that type of riding. it really depends on what youre doing. if you plan to ride street a lot, get the 425mm. if you plan to be riding a lot of natural terrain, get the 400mm.

5. snakebite

snakebite Guest

would a 425mm keep the bb level? also, does anyone know the wheelbase length for the zebdi?

6. xxxfr

xxxfr RCP FABRICATION

the 400mm puts the bb at 0mm drop, 425 will put it at about +6mm, the wheelbase is 1014mm w/ the 400mm kniffen

7. hophopsnap

hophopsnap Well-Known Member