Avid Mechanical or Deore M525?

Discussion in 'Observed Trials Discussion' started by JohanKA, Jul 19, 2004.

1. Avid front/Deore rear

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  2. Deore front/Avid rear (would be a hassle)

4.8%
  3. Avid front/Avid rear

57.1%
  4. Stick with vees rear

38.1%
  1. JohanKA

JohanKA Guest

[​IMG] VS [​IMG]
    So, there're two nice brakes beeing sold used here, an Avid mech front, and a Deore M525 rear. (But they are interchangable front/rear right?). I currenctly have an Avid mech at the front and LX levers. I have a LX rear veebrake with a boster and a ground rim, but eventually you're going to wear down the rim with vees right? So It'll be disc sooner or later anyways.

I use the bike to bomb through the gnarliest trails I can find (up and down), I also ride some street and trials. (I'm a beginner though, I've only managed 5hops at my rearwheel yet...but then again I've only practised two days) ;D

What speaks for the deore is better modulation? Which might be nice for manuals/wheelies. The Avid is cheaper especially since I've got a lever, and I suspect it has better stopping power, which is good for trials. But It's a front one, so I'll have to buy an adapter to fit it at the rear?

2. Tanner

Tanner New Member

avid mech hands down.

3. goose

goose New Member

honestly

My GF had a set of the Deore Hydros, they're OK. But if you have nice levers, and you lube/change cables often, AVIDS are just WAY nicer to deal with, and have plenty of power and modulation. I'm not sure the deore will be that much better in modulation, as it's a 2 piston design. The XT was a quad piston, and rumored to have excellent modulation. Anyways, I've had loads of hydros (magura julie, hayes mags, shimano Deore) and several mechanicals (hayes, shimano, avid), and I'll say for sure that I prefer the adjustability, simplicity, and light weight (compared to hydros) of the avid mechanical.