2004 xt cranks?

Discussion in 'Observed Trials Discussion' started by airmj, Jul 8, 2004.

1. airmj

airmj Guest

2005 LX cranks?

Anyone seen the 2005 LX cranks yet?

http://www.bikemagic.com/news/article.asp?UAN=3843&SP=&v=1

Looks rather nice.

I was thinking of getting lx cranks and a king at the rear, opposed to the new echo FFW cranks + WI fws + new bb.

They cost around the same to setup, +- a bit here and there. But in the end, the lx cranks + king set up will give me a much lighter setup, cause of the hollowtech bb and the fact that most fixed rear hubs are still heavier than cks.

what do u guys think? i'm still a 55kg beginner, so i don't think i could snap any cranks just yet... :(

or should i wait for the 2005 HONE groupset?
    http://www.bikemagic.com/news/article.asp?UAN=3722&V=1&SP=

about same pricing as the LX, toughness in between XT and SAINT... mmm

Last edited: Jul 8, 2004
  2. bwagner

bwagner New Member

I have the "Saint" cranks on my full suspension bike, and they are stiff as hell. The only thing I see posing a problem is the external bottom bracket cups and bearings. Even being a lighter rider, you'll crush the BB bearings the first time you land on your bb shell. Even though most of us don't do this on purpose too often, it does happen frequently. I'd stay away from the newer shimano cranks for trials for a bit, at least until the parts are radily available to replace more quickly. Don't get me wrong, I love my Saint stuff, but just not for trials. Hope this helps Also, theres a pair of Hussefelt trials cranks/trails bash rings BRAND new on ebay right now for like $70 american dollars. Just a thought.
    ~Bwagner

3. airmj

airmj Guest

aw man... are they THAT bad? :(

4. Rob.K

Rob.K Guest

you should check out my shitmano hub and XT V-brake then you will see how bad they are.

The only other shimano parts I have are XTR levers and XT deraillier, which I must say are good.