how often do you ride?

Discussion in 'Observed Trials Discussion' started by trialharder, Nov 17, 2015.

1. trialharder

trialharder Member

I'd just like to hear how often other riders ride their bikes. (Mainly to improve your riding skills)

Last edited: Nov 17, 2015
  2. aaccjosh

aaccjosh Active Member

3 to 5 times per week (2 or 3 during week for an hour or so and 1 or both days during weekends, 1 - 3 hours each day)
    I'm a relative newbie (about 2 years trialsin) and I try not to think about it as training or practice, mostly just for fun. occasionally I'll have it in mind to go "bigger" or finally accomplish something I've been trying and focus helps but the pressure doesn't.

3. Blackstick

Blackstick Well-Known Member

Once every 6 months or so.

4. AndyT

AndyT New Member

Ideally at least twice a week. Beyond 3 times a week takes places of real life things. When I was 18-21 I rode 3 hours a day 6 days a week. I rode, I never "trained".

5. zulujack

zulujack New Member

I have a demanding, stressful job, crazy wife and 2 toddlers to look after. I ride at night after the kids have gone to bed and in a good week I'll get in 4 sessions of an hour plus. Managing the logistics and negotiation to do more than that is not worth the additional stress. I worry more about the quality of the time I spend on the bike than the length of the time. It does however put things in perspective when you ask young guys who clearly dream big how many hours they are putting in and it is never less than 20! If I had 20 spare hours I doubt my body would last beyond the first week!

6. THEDEMOLITIONMAN

THEDEMOLITIONMAN There can only be one DMAN

I hear you there Andy, during my college years, I road on average about 3-5 hours a day.I use to bring my rig to class and ride it during break and even during class.I went to Art School and most of classes were 3-6 hours long and I'd ride it during breaks..